## **ICHTH Board Meeting**

Poznań Branch of the Polish Academy of Sciences 26 August 2022

Minutes

*In attendance*: Olufunke Adeboye, Antoon De Baets, Ewa Domańska, Estevão de Rezende Martins, Marek Tamm, Edoardo Tortarolo, Verónica Tozzi Thompson, Edward Wang. *In attendance via Zoom*: Efi Gazi, Marnie Hughes-Warrington, Chris Lorenz, Allan Megill, Daniel Woolf, Xupeng Zhang.

Excused: Berber Bevernage, Dipesh Chakrabarty, Sanjay Seth.

1. Ewa Domańska, current ICHTH president, chaired the Board meeting. She congratulated and welcomed the new Board members and thanked outgoing Board members.

Pursuant to Article 9.3 of the ICHTH Constitution, she then gave the floor to the Nomination Committee (Edoardo Tortarolo, Verónica Tozzi Thompson and Marek Tamm) to present a candidate for the new presidency. After reading its report, the committee strongly recommended to elect Antoon De Baets as the next ICHTH President.

Antoon De Baets was then unanimously elected as the new President of ICHTH.

2. He took over the chair from Ewa Domańska.

He gave his inaugural address, saying that although it came unexpected, he felt honored to accept the position. He also thanked the outgoing Board members and welcomed the new ones. He vowed to strengthen ICHTH by recruiting more new members (for more details, see his inaugural address <u>here</u> and <u>here</u>).

3. He made a motion as per the Constitution that new ICHTH members would go through a simple process of approval, which was passed by the Board.

Six new candidates were approved by the Board as new ICHTH members: Veronika Čapská, Piotr Kowalewski Jahromi, Marta Kurkowska-Budzan, Alexandra Lianeri, Zoltán Simon, Eugen Zeleňák.

4. Antoon De Baets then made recommendations for ICHTH Board executives:

- Vice President: Olufunke Adeboye
- Co-Secretary-General and Program Chair: Manie Hughes-Warrington and Daniel Woolf
- Treasurer ad interim: Antoon De Baets, with Marek Tamm as internal controller
- Book/Dissertation Prize Committee: Berber Bevernage and Marek Tamm

The candidates were approved by acclamation.

5. Ewa Domańska proposed to discuss the name of the Joint ICHTH/INTH Prize. After a brief exchange of opinions (maintain the name; extend it with the name of the ICHTH journal *Storia*; name it after Hayden White, Georg Iggers, or another historian), the Board decided to ask Berber Bevernage and Marek Tamm to incorporate the name issue in their plan for the next prize.

Antoon De Baets observed that it is urgent for ICHTH to open a bank account so that membership fees can be collected. He proposed a general amnesty for fees for 2015–2021 (accepted by the Board) and he will send out a reminder to all members to pay two years of membership fees for 2022 and 2023 (€25/\$35 x 2). He also collected fees among the attendees of this meeting. He presented his ideas about membership responsibilities and benefits. The latter included receiving a regular Newsletter and a discount of €20 for a subscription to the ICHTH journal *Storia della Storiografia*.

Daniel Woolf made a critical and broadly welcomed comment about improving the technology in managing ICHTH conferences and meetings.

6. Antoon De Baets announced that a new Board meeting will be called on Zoom in six months. He thanked all Board members for their much appreciated efforts and closed the meeting.

Submitted respectfully

Edward Wang