

## 2026 ICHTH–INTH Book Prizes for the History and Theory of Historiography

# Call for Applications

The International Commission for the History and Theory of Historiography (ICHTH) and the International Network for Theory of History (INTH) jointly award two prizes, worth 500 euros each, for the Best Book and Best First Book on any aspect of the history and theory of historiography.

Submissions are now open for the **2026 ICHTH–INTH BEST BOOK AND BEST FIRST BOOK** (published between 1 January 2024 and 31 December 2025) Submission deadline: 31 December 2025

#### SCOPE

- The Prize focuses on books in the fields of the history and theory of historiography.
- All authors, whether ICHTH or INTH members or not, can submit.
- Authors may submit only one book.
- A book is any single-author publication with an ISBN. Books without ISBN, edited volumes, translations, reeditions, and unpublished Ph.D. dissertations are not accepted.
- There are two categories: the *Best First Book* targets first works (including published Ph.D. dissertations) of earlycareer scholars; the *Best Book* targets all other works.
- The submitted book should be published between 1 January 2024 and 31 December 2025.

## SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS

- The submitted book should be in English, French, German, Portuguese or Spanish. (The choice of languages is based on the linguistic competence of the Prize Committee).
- The following should be submitted to the Prize Committee at prize@ichth.net:
  - 1) Mention of the category (*Best First Book* or *Best Book*) in your covering e-mail.
  - 2) A pdf of your book (for internal use of the Prize Committee only).
  - 3) A pdf with your curriculum vitae and list of publications.
- Please share pdfs larger than 25 MB via large file transfer services or via a downloadable link.
- Each submission e-mail will receive an automatic response acknowledging its receipt.

#### PRIZE COMMITTEE

The Prize Committee consists of six scholars from five continents nominated by ICHTH and INTH: Mariana Imaz Sheinbaum, Lize Kriel, João Ohara, Luke David O'Sullivan, Walderez Ramalho, and Marek Tamm.

#### CALENDAR

- 31 December 2025: Deadline for submission (early submissions are encouraged).
- 20 April 2026: The Prize Committee determines a shortlist of selected candidates.
- **19–22 May 2026**: A celebration of the Prizes will be held at the sixth INTH Conference in Tallinn, Estonia.
- Second half of 2026: *Rethinking History* will be approached to publish two peer-reviewed Fora dedicated to the Prize winners: *Forum for Best First Book* and *Forum for Best Book*. Each *Forum* will consist of a summary of the winning book by the laureate, three review essays, and a rejoinder by the laureate.
- Updates are available at <a href="https://www.ichth.net/prize">https://inth.ugent.be</a>.